Sesame Robot
Based on published sources · Not tested by us ·
License: Apache-2.0 · Details by part
Overview
Small 3D-printed ESP32 quadruped with eight MG90S servos, an OLED face and Wi-Fi control; four controller-board routes need matching firmware pin settings. [S001] [S004] [S007]
Sesame is a small walking quadruped built around an ESP32. Eight 180-degree MG90S servos give two joints per leg, a 128x64 OLED acts as a face, and the firmware serves a Wi-Fi control page, a JSON API and a serial command line. The frame is eleven PLA prints. The README aims it at makers with basic soldering skills, a 3D printer and some Arduino IDE experience. [S001] [S004] [S008]
Specifications
| Detail | Description |
|---|---|
| Type | Quadruped with two servo joints per leg and an OLED face. Reported by source [S001] · Checked 2026-10-05 |
| Intended users | Makers with basic soldering skills, access to a PLA-capable 3D printer and familiarity with Arduino IDE Reported by source [S001] · Checked 2026-10-05 |
| Assembly | Five-phase guide: gather parts, pre-build harness, pre-assemble joints and top cover, mount motors and electronics, calibrate and close. Reported by source [S006] · Checked 2026-10-05 |
| Calibration | Motor tester or pre-flashed portal with joints removed, then hip joints fitted parallel in REST and checked at 45 degrees in STAND before screwing down. Reported by source [S006] · Checked 2026-10-05 |
| Operating system | Not known |
| Computer needed | A computer running Arduino IDE for flashing; a phone or browser for the Wi-Fi control page. Reported by source [S006] [S007] · Checked 2026-10-05 |
3D preview
Preview not available yet. Design-source links are available. A configuration-matched assembly and its file-level reuse scope have not yet been reviewed for a hosted preview.
Model sources
Design-source links are available. A configuration-matched assembly and its file-level reuse scope have not yet been reviewed for a hosted preview.
Assembly and use
Four boards, four wiring and firmware paths
The main decision is the controller, because wiring, power and firmware settings all follow from it:
- Lolin ESP32-S2 Mini on a protoboard. Recommended for DIY builds. It uses the core BOM plus wiring option A (protoboard, headers and a buck converter rated for a stable 5 V / 3 A output), and the rails need at least 5 V at 3 A from USB-C PD or a battery. [S001] [S004] [S005]
- Sesame Distro Board V3.1 (ESP32-S3). The current board, with a Bambu Lab battery connector. Built from scratch, its SMD parts need advanced soldering or a PCB assembly service. Build kits include an assembled, pre-flashed Distro Board, described upstream as V3 or earlier V2, so confirm the revision with the supplier before relying on the V3.1 fixes or choosing a power route. The PCB notes say its 12 V USB-C PD negotiation is "slightly untested". The original V3 had USB interference and a reversed battery connector, both fixed in V3.1. [S005]
- Distro Board V2. Legacy; battery brownouts restrict it to USB power unless a separate buck converter is soldered onto the power line, as the PCB notes describe. [S004] [S005]
- Distro Board V1 with an ESP32-DevKitC-32E. Legacy; cannot run on tethered USB-C power. [S004]
The firmware guide asks you to select the matching board in Arduino IDE and uncomment the matching servo-pin block. It also pins ESP32Servo to v3.0.9 because newer releases have a known multi-channel issue. Buying servos that are not the 180-degree MG90S variant is flagged as a build-breaking mistake. [S004] [S007]
Reconcile the guides before printing
Several upstream documents disagree in small but practical ways. The build guide's parts checklist mentions two 14500 cells in an AAA holder, while the BOM recommends a Bambu Lab 14500 7.4 V 800 mAh pack and a reprinted internal frame. The printing guide recommends "Enclosed v91", the top-cover notes describe "Enclosed v100", and the pinned STL is named v117. The CAD sources are labelled v122 while the STLs are v117 and v121; we did not compare their geometry. The build guide also links a motor-testing page under hardware/, but the pinned archive has it at the top-level motor-testing/README.md. [S004] [S006] [S008] [S009]
Calibration happens with every joint removed so each motor shaft spins freely, using the motor tester on DIY and V1 builds or the pre-flashed portal on kit boards. The build guide then fits each hip at 45 degrees while the motors hold STAND, checks that REST brings it parallel to the body, and only then fastens it; leg joints follow the same check for collisions. [S006]
Cost and licensing scope
The README and the maintainer's page both give about USD 50–60 in hardware components. A 3D printer is listed as a separate requirement. That range is not itemized, and it does not name a controller route or a date. The BOM links point to representative Amazon searches and note that prices change often. Whether it covers tools, filament, shipping or taxes is not established, so budget for those separately and treat the range as a rough parts figure, not a delivered quote. [S001] [S004] [S010]
The repository has one license file, Apache License 2.0, at its root, and the maintainer describes Sesame as Apache 2.0. The pinned archive contains Fusion 360 and STEP sources, STLs, Distro Board Gerbers (EasyEDA sources for V2 and V3.1), firmware and Sesame Studio. Purchased modules and external Arduino libraries keep their own terms. The companion app, simulator and ML tools are separate projects and were not reviewed here. [S001] [S003] [S009] [S010]
No part of this profile comes from a physical build, flashing session or walking test. Dimensions, battery runtime and gait performance remain unverified.
Cost
| Version | Price |
|---|---|
| Upstream-stated hardware component range for one Sesame build | USD 50.00 [S001] [S010] Parts estimate |
Not stated; BOM links are representative US Amazon searches · Checked 2026-10-05
| Included | Hardware components as summarized upstream (servos, controller, display, power and wiring parts); exact composition not itemized with prices |
|---|---|
| Not included | 3D printer access and filament (listed as separate requirements); Soldering and hand tools; Battery charger unless counted by upstream (not established); Shipping and taxes; Assembly work |
| Stock | Supplier stock not checked; BOM notes prices change frequently. |
| Delivery and tax | Not established; no delivered total. |
Price details
Upstream README and maintainer page give this rounded range for hardware components; the variant, supplier set and date basis are not stated. Not a fresh quote.
Not stated; BOM links are representative US Amazon searches · Checked 2026-10-05 · Quantity 1
Printed parts, tools and a 5 V / 3 A power source must be reconciled for the chosen board route.
Source files and licenses
Mechanical sources, PCB fabrication files, firmware and guides are in one pinned repository under a root Apache-2.0 license; physical build and performance remain untested.
| Layer | Availability / license |
|---|---|
| mechanical design | available · Apache-2.0 Pinned archive contains Fusion 360 (.f3z) and STEP sources plus STL print files. Root Apache-2.0 is the only license file found; the maintainer page states the project is Apache 2.0. No separate hardware license file. [S001] [S003] [S008] [S009] |
| electronics | available · Apache-2.0 Distro Board V3.1, V2 and V1 Gerbers; V3.1 and V2 EasyEDA source JSON, BOM and pick-and-place files. Purchased modules (ESP32 boards, OLED, servos) are not covered by the repository license. [S003] [S005] [S009] |
| firmware | available · Apache-2.0 Arduino sketch, headers and motor-tester firmware. External Arduino libraries keep their own terms. [S003] [S007] [S009] |
| software | available · Apache-2.0 Sesame Studio Python tool is in the repository; companion app, simulator and ML tools are separate projects not reviewed here. [S001] [S003] [S009] |
| documentation | available · Apache-2.0 Build, wiring, printing and firmware guides in the repository; root license applies as declared. [S001] [S003] [S006] |
The reviewed firmware uses scripted poses and sequences; no trained policy is part of this configuration. Third-party ML tools are separate.
No dataset is part of the reviewed build configuration.
References
Links identify the documentation and revisions used in this profile. Access dates record when each source was retrieved.
- S001 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Sesame Robot README
Accessed 2026-10-05 · README.md at d106cbc8Source notes
Project scope, $50-60 hardware statement, eight-servo quadruped features, controller options and software components.
- S002 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Repository revision and acquisition metadata
Accessed 2026-10-05 · d106cbc8e158c982f408db421134f23273c5f51f; default-branch snapshot, no stable release in first 100Source notes
Selected commit, commit date, archive checksum and dated repository popularity counts.
- S003 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Repository license (Apache License 2.0)
Accessed 2026-10-05 · LICENSESource notes
Root Apache License 2.0 text; appendix copyright placeholder not filled in.
- S004 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Bill of materials
Accessed 2026-10-05 · hardware/bom/README.mdSource notes
Component quantities, wiring options A-C, power notes, fasteners and tools.
- S005 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
PCB and Distro Board notes
Accessed 2026-10-05 · hardware/pcb/README.mdSource notes
Distro Board V3.1/V2/V1 status, V3 defects and fixes, fabrication files and ordering notes.
- S006 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Build guide
Accessed 2026-10-05 · docs/build-guide/README.mdSource notes
Five build phases, battery note, calibration and joint attachment procedure.
- S007 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Firmware documentation
Accessed 2026-10-05 · firmware/README.mdSource notes
Arduino IDE prerequisites, ESP32Servo version pin, board selection and pin-configuration steps.
- S008 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Printing guide and top-cover notes
Accessed 2026-10-05 · hardware/printing/README.md; hardware/printing/stl/top-covers/README.mdSource notes
PLA settings, eleven-part print table and top-cover version labels.
- S009 · Dorian Todd / sesame-robot contributors
Pinned repository file inventory
Accessed 2026-10-05 · d106cbc8e158c982f408db421134f23273c5f51f archive member list (selected paths); not a completeness or geometry testSource notes
Presence and sizes of CAD, STL, PCB, firmware and documentation files.
- S010 · Dorian Todd
Sesame Robot Project page (maintainer site)
Accessed 2026-10-05 · Page snapshot sha256 69da39c35483ba57Source notes
Maintainer description of parts cost, license intent and project history.
Correction guidance · Discussion is not enabled · Profile format 0.7.0-draft.5
Change history
2026-10-05 — Initial source-researched profile from pinned commit d106cbc8 and maintainer page snapshot.