Open Source RoboticsRobots, software & learning

Zeroth-01 Bot

Based on published sources · Not tested by us ·

License: MIT · Details by part

Overview

Small 3D-printed humanoid using sixteen Feetech serial-bus servos and a Milk-V Duo S; the main repository is now a pointer, so the BOM and STLs come from the separate docs repository. [S001] [S002] [S005] [S007]

Zeroth-01 is a small 3D-printed humanoid intended for sim-to-real reinforcement learning, vision and speech. Its README calls it a public beta with breaking changes expected and a stable V1.0 planned for June 2025. The docs pages call it a public alpha. No stable release appeared among the first 100 release entries checked for the repository. [S001] [S002] [S005]

Specifications

DetailDescription
TypeSmall humanoid with legs, arms, head and hands.
Reported by source [S006] [S008] · Checked 2026-10-05
Intended usersHobbyists and developers comfortable with 3D printing, serial-bus servos, embedded Linux images and Python
Editorial assessment [S001] [S005] [S011] · Checked 2026-10-05
AssemblyStep-by-step photo guide from ankle servos through legs, torso, shoulders, arms and hands.
Reported by source [S008] · Checked 2026-10-05
CalibrationNot known
Operating systemNot known
Computer neededHost computer for SD flashing and the Python SDK; onboard Milk-V Duo S.
Reported by source [S005] [S011] · Checked 2026-10-05

3D preview

Preview not available yet. Design-source links are available. A configuration-matched assembly and its file-level reuse scope have not yet been reviewed for a hosted preview.

Assembly and use

Where the sources are

A May 2025 "Clean up" commit removed the experiments folder, its teleoperation URDF meshes and other files from zeroth-robotics/zeroth-bot. At the pinned commit, the repository holds only a README, a license, one image and two submodule pointers to K-Scale Labs repositories. The README sends builders to K-Scale's documentation site, which we did not preserve. This review instead uses the separate zeroth-robotics/docs repository, last committed in December 2024. It holds the BOM, the printing and assembly guides, and the STL package. [S001] [S002] [S004] [S012]

Configuration documented in November 2024

The BOM page, dated 11/28/2024 and marked not finalized, lists:

  • sixteen Feetech STS3250 serial-bus servos (the note says STS3215 servos are too slow for the legs);
  • a Milk-V Duo S controller and a Waveshare bus servo adapter;
  • an RP2040 LCD board, a 9-DOF IMU and a Milk-V camera;
  • an RC LiPo battery, a 12 V to 5 V 3 A converter, and a microphone, speaker and amplifier.

Fasteners and wiring are not itemized. The assembly steps place servos at the ankles, knees, hips, shoulders and elbows. We infer sixteen degrees of freedom from that, but the docs give no explicit count. [S005] [S008]

The printing guide links an Onshape CAD document, which was not preserved, and a November 2024 STL zip. It recommends 0.16 mm layers, five wall loops and tree supports. The assembly checklist names head, neck and mounting back plates. The zip contains Head and Neck files, but no file named for a mounting back plate; we did not check whether the zip's 3MF print plate includes one. [S006] [S007] [S008]

Software no longer matches the docs

The first-run page clones zeroth-bot and runs experiments/run.py, a path the cleanup commit removed. The setup page flashes an OpenLCH image to the Milk-V. The current kos-zbot installation guide instead lists a Raspberry Pi 4B and a BNO055 IMU as prerequisites. That suggests the software has moved to different hardware than the November 2024 BOM, though this is our inference. We preserved the current default branches of kos-zbot and ksim-gym-zbot, not the submodule commits pinned by zeroth-bot. [S002] [S004] [S011] [S013] [S014]

Cost and licensing

Both the README and the docs home page say the BOM starts at USD 350. The BOM lists the servo price as dependent on the seller, previously USD 222.24 for sixteen. Printing, fasteners, tools, shipping and taxes are not covered by any figure we found. [S001] [S005] [S010]

The main repository is MIT-licensed, but it now holds little besides the README. The docs repository's MIT text names Shu Ding as copyright holder, and it is not established whether that license was meant to cover the STL package stored there. No license was identified for the Onshape CAD. No license file was found in the kos-zbot archive; ksim-gym-zbot is MIT. [S003] [S009] [S013] [S014]

Before printing or ordering

As editorial guidance from the gaps above: confirm with the maintainers or community which controller, servo and software combination is current. Reconcile the mounting back plate against the print package. Get current servo prices and budget separately for the parts no figure covers.

No printing, assembly, flashing or walking test was performed for this profile.

Cost

VersionPrice
Upstream-stated starting BOM for one Zeroth-01 BotUSD 350.00 [S001] [S010]
Parts estimate

Not stated; listed suppliers include AliExpress, Amazon, Adafruit, Waveshare and DigiKey · Checked 2026-10-05

IncludedElectronics and actuator components on the BOM page (servos, controller, servo adapter, IMUs, camera, battery, converter, audio parts)
Not included3D printing filament and printer time; Fasteners and wiring (not itemized); Tools; Shipping and taxes; Assembly work
StockServo price and stock depend on seller; not re-quoted.
Delivery and taxNot established; no delivered total.
Price details

Upstream "starts at $350" statement. The 11/28/2024 BOM page lists individual amounts but marks the BOM not finalized and says the servo price depends on the seller (previously 222.24 for sixteen). Not a fresh quote.

Not stated; listed suppliers include AliExpress, Amazon, Adafruit, Waveshare and DigiKey · Checked 2026-10-05 · Quantity 1

Printed parts, fasteners, charger and a host computer must be reconciled separately.

Source files and licenses

An STL package, BOM and assembly guide survive in the docs repository; editable CAD is external, software lives in unreviewed submodules and STL license coverage is unclear.

LayerAvailability / license
mechanical designavailable · License not fully assessed
STL zip (November 2024) is in the docs repository, whose only license file is an MIT text naming Shu Ding; whether it was meant to cover the STLs is not established. Editable CAD is an external Onshape document; no license identified for it. [S006] [S007] [S009]
electronicsnot found · License not fully assessed
Purchased modules only; the releases table leaves the schematics entry blank. [S005] [S010]
firmwarenot found · License not fully assessed
No embedded firmware source identified; servos are Feetech units. kos-zbot is a Python service and OS image tooling for the robot computer, recorded under software. [S004] [S013]
softwareavailable · License not fully assessed
Current default branches of kscalelabs/kos-zbot (no license file identified in the inspected archive) and kscalelabs/ksim-gym-zbot (MIT) were preserved; the submodule commits pinned by zeroth-bot (5b728967, 022f5cd6) were not. The docs inference script path no longer exists in the main repository. [S001] [S004] [S013] [S014]
model weightsnot found · License not fully assessed
The docs refer to a premade inference model; no model file or terms were identified in the preserved sources. [S011]
documentationavailable · MIT
Docs repository is MIT-licensed as declared; copyright line names Shu Ding, which may come from a site template (inference). [S009] [S012]

No dataset is part of the reviewed build configuration.

References

Links identify the documentation and revisions used in this profile. Access dates record when each source was retrieved.

  1. S001 · Zeroth Robotics / zeroth-bot contributors
    Zeroth-01 Bot README
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · README.md at 97bf404c
    Source notes

    Project status, $350 BoM statement, pointers to K-Scale docs and submodules, MIT statement.

  2. S002 · Zeroth Robotics / zeroth-bot contributors
    Repository revision, cleanup commit and acquisition metadata
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · 97bf404c26ed10253e8426ff797a6a1ad3dc3b24 "Clean up (#98)"; default-branch snapshot, no stable release in first 100
    Source notes

    Selected commit, removed paths in the cleanup commit, archive checksum and dated popularity counts.

  3. S003 · Zeroth Robotics / zeroth-bot contributors
    zeroth-bot repository license (MIT)
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · LICENSE
    Source notes

    MIT text, copyright 2024 Jingxiang Mo.

  4. S004 · Zeroth Robotics / zeroth-bot contributors
    zeroth-bot pinned archive inventory and submodule map
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · 97bf404c26ed10253e8426ff797a6a1ad3dc3b24 archive member list; .gitmodules; Git tree API entries (submodule pins)
    Source notes

    Archive holds README, LICENSE, an image and empty submodule paths pointing to kscalelabs repositories.

  5. S005 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    Bill of Materials page source
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · pages/build/bom.mdx (last updated 11/28/2024)
    Source notes

    Component list, quantities, listed USD amounts and the STS3250 servo note.

  6. S006 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    3D printing guide source
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · pages/build/3d_print.mdx
    Source notes

    Onshape CAD link, STL zip link, print settings and printed part names.

  7. S007 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    STL package file listing
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · public/20241118stl.zip member names (nested archive; listing only, no geometry check)
    Source notes

    File names and sizes inside the November 2024 STL package.

  8. S008 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    Assembly guide source
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · pages/build/assemble.mdx
    Source notes

    Printed-part checklist and assembly step headings.

  9. S009 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    Docs repository license
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · LICENSE
    Source notes

    MIT text with copyright line "2022 Shu Ding".

  10. S010 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    Docs overview, releases and about pages
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · pages/index.mdx; pages/releases.mdx; pages/about.mdx
    Source notes

    $350 starting price statement, release table and named creators.

  11. S011 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    Software setup and first-run page sources
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · pages/build/setup.mdx; pages/build/run.mdx
    Source notes

    OpenLCH image flashing, Milk-V connection and experiments/run.py inference instructions.

  12. S012 · Zeroth Robotics / docs contributors
    Docs repository revision and acquisition metadata
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · 4b8db2311228a445c9d0d6264e02f3a8b102831c; default-branch snapshot
    Source notes

    Selected docs commit and archive checksum.

  13. S013 · K-Scale Labs / kos-zbot contributors
    kos-zbot repository (current default branch)
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · fce28827aad2abfa308576e24a95621b41302a6a default-branch snapshot; README.md, Installation.md, archive inventory
    Source notes

    Robot-side Python service and Raspberry Pi 4B image tooling; no license file in the archive. Not the submodule commit pinned by zeroth-bot.

  14. S014 · K-Scale Labs / ksim-gym-zbot contributors
    ksim-gym-zbot repository (current default branch)
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · a48211269a2d729d58bc770e3fb832ac2f9dd9cd default-branch snapshot; README.md, LICENSE
    Source notes

    RL training template and MIT license. Not the submodule commit pinned by zeroth-bot.

Research and review details

Source research only; no printing, assembly, flashing or locomotion test performed. No affiliate links added.

Profile edited 2026-10-05 · Sources checked 2026-10-05 · Next review target 2026-11-05

Revision: 97bf404c26ed10253e8426ff797a6a1ad3dc3b24 (commit snapshot; no published stable release found); docs 4b8db2311228a445c9d0d6264e02f3a8b102831c. Combined hardware and software repository activity recorded 2025-05-24 [S002]

Correction guidance · Discussion is not enabled · Profile format 0.7.0-draft.5

Change history

2026-10-05 — Initial source-researched profile from main repository 97bf404c and docs repository 4b8db231.