Open Source RoboticsRobots, software & learning

Maker's Pet Snoopy

Based on published sources · Not tested by us ·

License: Apache-2.0, Apache-2.0 (root); bundled LGPL-3.0 and GPL-3.0 libraries · Details by part

Overview

300 mm 3D-printable differential-drive pet robot with an ESP32, BLDC gear motors, a 360-degree LiDAR and a phone or tablet head, run through the shared Kaia.ai ROS 2 stack; pet character and skills are upstream work in progress. [S001] [S008] [S015]

Snoopy is a round, two-wheel differential-drive pet robot that maps rooms and navigates with ROS 2. An ESP32 runs the onboard firmware, a 360-degree LiDAR supplies scans, and a phone or 7-inch tablet serves as the head display and camera. SLAM, Nav2 and Gazebo run on a separate PC; the platform README offers Docker on Windows or Linux and Ubuntu 24.04, untested here with this snapshot. The maker lists character and skill programming as work in progress, so the documented workflow is mapping and navigation rather than pet behaviour. [S001] [S009] [S015]

Specifications

DetailDescription
TypeRound two-wheel differential-drive base with a caster, LiDAR puck and a tilted phone/tablet head.
Reported by source [S001] [S005] · Checked 2026-10-05
Intended usersMakers with a 300 × 300 mm-class 3D printer who can configure ESP32 firmware, ROS 2 and a LiDAR
Editorial assessment [S001] [S009] [S015] · Checked 2026-10-05
AssemblyREADME assembly video is labeled for the Loki and Fido models; no Snoopy-specific written assembly guide identified in the inspected sources.
Video content not reviewed.
Editorial assessment [S001] · Checked 2026-10-05
CalibrationNot known
Operating systemDocker on Windows or Linux; Ubuntu 24.04
Current Kaia.ai platform README; compatibility with this 2025 description snapshot not tested.
Reported by source [S015] · Checked 2026-10-05
Computer neededESP32 on the robot; SLAM, Nav2 and Gazebo run on a separate PC. The BOM lists the PC and the phone/tablet head as bring-your-own.
Reported by source [S008] [S015] · Checked 2026-10-05

3D preview

Preview not available yet. Design-source links are available. A configuration-matched assembly and its file-level reuse scope have not yet been reviewed for a hosted preview.

Assembly and use

What the Snoopy repository contains

The pinned makerspet_snoopy repository is a ROS 2 description package: a URDF robot model plus commands that run simulation, Cartographer mapping and navigation through the shared Kaia.ai packages. Its URDF gives a 300 mm base, 67 mm wheels and about 0.263 m between wheels, and its telemetry file defaults to a YDLIDAR X4. The README links the STL, 3MF, firmware and KiCad files in separate repositories. [S001] [S004] [S005] [S006] [S007]

Printable parts live in makerspet/3d_models, which lists Snoopy plates, BLDC motor brackets, a YDLIDAR mount, optional bumper and cliff-sensor parts, and a Fusion 360 archive. That repository exceeded the catalog's 150 MiB archive limit, so the file list was preserved but no geometry was opened. The maker page says the parts need a 300 × 300 mm or larger print bed. The README's assembly video is labeled for the Loki and Fido models, and no Snoopy-specific written assembly guide was identified; the video was not reviewed, so plan to use the linked support forum for assembly questions. [S001] [S009] [S010]

Firmware and electronics to reconcile

The README links the shared kaiaai/firmware ESP32 code, which the Kaia.ai platform README describes as the firmware for its robots. The firmware README says it supports ESC-style BLDC motors with PWM, direction and FG pins. However, the board configurations shipped in the pinned snapshot name Mini-family boards and a makerspet_vac BLDC board, not Snoopy. A builder must write or adapt a configuration for their own board, motors and LiDAR. [S001] [S012] [S014] [S015]

The README's KiCad link now resolves to makerspet/store. That snapshot holds schematic PDFs, STEP files and one Gerber archive for named boards such as BRK-30P, BDC-30P and an LDS02RR adapter, none labeled for Snoopy, and no editable KiCad project. The 2023 Snoopy page says a brushless ESP32 board was still planned for the store. A matched Snoopy driver-board design was not identified in the inspected sources. [S009] [S016] [S017]

Cost scope

The September 2023 BOM page lists an ESP32, regulator, battery, YDLIDAR X4, two CHR-GM25-BLDC2418 motors, tires, a breakout PCB and 1 kg of filament, totalling $199.60. The phone or tablet, PC and printer are bring-your-own at $0, and optional cliff and bumper sensors cost about $1 each extra. The listed quantities and unit prices sum to $196.40, so the stated total does not reproduce exactly. Treat it as a dated parts estimate, not a current quote. [S008]

Licenses and unknowns

The description package and CAD repository carry Apache-2.0 license files. The shared firmware's root license is also Apache-2.0, but bundled AsyncTCP and ESPAsyncWebSrv carry LGPL-3.0 files and PID_Timed a GPL-3.0 file. Check those terms before redistributing binaries. No firmware was compiled, no parts were printed and no robot was built or tested for this profile. [S003] [S011] [S013]

Cost

VersionPrice
Snoopy minimum BOM published September 20, 2023 (ESP32, two CHR-GM25-BLDC2418 motors, YDLIDAR X4, battery, breakout PCB, 1 kg filament)USD 199.60 [S008]
Parts estimate

Amazon/AliExpress examples; destination unspecified · Checked 2026-10-05

IncludedESP32 and voltage regulator; Battery with cable; YDLIDAR X4 with cable; Two BLDC motors and 65 mm tires with adapters; Breakout PCB, resistors, connectors; 1 kg PETG or PLA filament
Not includedSmartphone or tablet head, PC and 3D printer (listed as bring-your-own); Optional cliff and bumper sensors (about $1 each per the page); Fasteners and wiring not itemized; Shipping and taxes not stated
StockPrices as of 09/2023; not re-quoted.
Delivery and taxNot stated on the page; destination costs not established.
Price details

Upstream total $199.60 as of 09/2023; the listed quantities and unit prices sum to $196.40, so the line items do not reproduce the stated total exactly. Historical estimate, not a current quote.

Amazon/AliExpress examples; destination unspecified · Checked 2026-10-05 · Quantity 1

Phone/tablet, PC, large-format printer, matched driver electronics and firmware configuration.

Source files and licenses

Printable CAD, shared firmware and the ROS 2 description are public under Apache-2.0 root licenses; matched electronics source, a Snoopy-specific firmware configuration and a current budget remain unresolved.

LayerAvailability / license
mechanical designavailable · Apache-2.0
STL, 3MF and a Fusion 360 archive (Snoopy v126.f3z) are listed at the pinned commit. The repository archive exceeded the 150 MiB intake limit, so files were listed, not preserved or opened. Root Apache-2.0 as declared; purchased motors, LiDAR and battery are not covered. [S010] [S011]
electronicsnot found · License not fully assessed
README-linked makerspet/pcb now resolves to makerspet/store, whose pinned snapshot holds schematic PDFs, STEP models and one Gerber archive for other boards, without an editable KiCad project. The 2023 Snoopy page says a brushless ESP32 board was planned; its design source was not identified. [S001] [S009] [S016] [S017]
firmwareavailable · Apache-2.0 (root); bundled LGPL-3.0 and GPL-3.0 libraries
Shared platform firmware. Root Apache-2.0, but bundled AsyncTCP and ESPAsyncWebSrv carry LGPL-3.0 files and PID_Timed a GPL-3.0 file. Pinned board configurations name Mini-family boards and a makerspet_vac BLDC board, none for Snoopy. [S012] [S013] [S014]
softwareavailable · Apache-2.0
ROS 2 description package (URDF, SDF meshes, Nav2/Cartographer configuration). Runtime packages live in separate Kaia.ai repositories whose licenses were not individually reviewed. [S001] [S003] [S004] [S015]
documentationavailable · Apache-2.0
Repository README under the root license. Maker's Pet blog pages and linked videos show no separate license in the inspected text; videos were not reviewed. [S001] [S003] [S008] [S009]

Selected mapping and navigation workflow uses no learned model weights.

No dataset is part of the selected workflow.

References

Links identify the documentation and revisions used in this profile. Access dates record when each source was retrieved.

  1. S001 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Maker's Pet Snoopy README
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · README.md at d035f9511cfc20c9ade84e05b4e0b28a3b1f2115
    Source notes

    Robot description, features, linked CAD/firmware/PCB repositories, setup videos and support forum.

  2. S002 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Repository revision and popularity metadata
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · d035f9511cfc20c9ade84e05b4e0b28a3b1f2115; GitHub repository and commit API fields
    Source notes

    Selected default-branch commit snapshot (no published release), commit date, archive checksum and dated repository-level popularity.

  3. S003 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Repository license
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · LICENSE
    Source notes

    Apache License 2.0 text at the repository root.

  4. S004 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    ROS 2 package manifest
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · package.xml
    Source notes

    Package name, description, maintainer and declared Apache 2.0 license.

  5. S005 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Robot URDF dimensions
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · urdf/robot.urdf.xacro, ROBOT DIMENSIONS block
    Source notes

    Simulation/description dimensions: base diameter, wheel diameter, wheel separation and tablet head geometry.

  6. S006 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Robot description modding and command guide
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · urdf/README.md
    Source notes

    kaiaai_bringup/kaiaai_gazebo launch commands for physical, simulated, mapping and navigation runs.

  7. S007 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Telemetry configuration
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · config/telem.yaml
    Source notes

    Default LiDAR model and scan mask radius for the description package.

  8. S008 · Maker's Pet (Ilia O.)
    Maker's Pet bill-of-materials page
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · Blog page snapshot sha256 cdf0410ca142
    Source notes

    Dated parts list and upstream parts total with bring-your-own exclusions.

  9. S009 · Maker's Pet (Ilia O.)
    Maker's Pet robot design page
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · Blog page snapshot sha256 45dbfeb88ac1
    Source notes

    Design notes, print-volume requirement, development status and repository contents as described by the maker.

  10. S010 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Linked CAD repository file listing (makerspet/3d_models)
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · Git tree API listing at 42d7b7956bd6d54b8cff79f26c2f1d54f677ea18; repository archive over the 150 MiB intake limit, files listed but not preserved
    Source notes

    STL, 3MF and Fusion 360 file names and sizes for the model; no geometry inspected.

  11. S011 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Linked CAD repository license
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · LICENSE at the pinned CAD commit
    Source notes

    Apache License 2.0 text for the CAD repository.

  12. S012 · Kaia.ai / Maker's Pet contributors
    Kaia.ai platform firmware README
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · README.md at e4d159c94321b1431e61f64f12c3a2da24cf2d19 (iron branch snapshot)
    Source notes

    Shared ESP32 Arduino/micro-ROS firmware: supported motor drivers, BLDC motor guidance and change log.

  13. S013 · Kaia.ai / Maker's Pet contributors
    Firmware and bundled library license files
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · LICENSE and libraries/*/LICENSE headers
    Source notes

    Root Apache-2.0 plus bundled libraries under Apache-2.0, LGPL-3.0 and GPL-3.0 license files.

  14. S014 · Kaia.ai / Maker's Pet contributors
    Firmware board configuration files
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · kaiaai-esp32/data/*.yaml board model lines
    Source notes

    Board configurations shipped with the pinned firmware snapshot.

  15. S015 · Kaia.ai / Maker's Pet contributors
    Kaia.ai ROS 2 package README
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · README.md at ef5fb2ab3433f83d3ed19765af792f8d2298d50b
    Source notes

    Platform architecture (ESP32 on robot, ROS 2 on PC), compatible robot list, supported LiDARs and installation routes.

  16. S016 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Maker's Pet store technical files inventory
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · e338516e4e4c19bec75d947f9c32589d32a29387 archive file inventory
    Source notes

    Schematic PDFs, STEP models, one Gerber archive and board configs; no editable KiCad project identified.

  17. S017 · Maker's Pet (makerspet.com)
    Redirect of the README-linked PCB repository
    Accessed 2026-10-05 · GitHub API repos/makerspet/pcb response (redirected)
    Source notes

    The README-linked makerspet/pcb repository resolves to makerspet/store.

Research and review details

Source research only; no installation, physical build, calibration or test performed. No affiliate links; Maker's Pet store prices on the cited pages were not used as costs.

Profile edited 2026-10-05 · Sources checked 2026-10-05 · Next review target 2026-11-05

Revision: makerspet/makerspet_snoopy d035f9511cfc20c9ade84e05b4e0b28a3b1f2115 (commit snapshot 2025-01-05; no published release). Linked CAD makerspet/3d_models 42d7b7956bd6d54b8cff79f26c2f1d54f677ea18 listed only (archive over 150 MiB); shared firmware kaiaai/firmware e4d159c94321b1431e61f64f12c3a2da24cf2d19 (iron-branch commit snapshot).. Software repository activity recorded 2025-01-05 [S002]

Correction guidance · Discussion is not enabled · Profile format 0.7.0-draft.5

Change history

2026-10-05 — Initial intake profile from pinned upstream sources (Growbotics lead verified against upstream).